Who We Are

Launch Michigan is an unprecedented partnership of business, education, labor, philanthropy, and civic leaders, as well as parents, all of whom care deeply about education and our state’s collective future. That is why we want a high-quality, student-centered system–one that helps every student succeed in school, in their careers, and in life. We understand implicitly that a strong, thriving public education system is the cornerstone of successful kids, prosperous communities, and a strong economy.

We know our work will not be easy, but we firmly believe it is possible to make meaningful and lasting change for our students and for our own future. What we are doing is historic! This time around, we have all the right players at the table to make sure this important task gets done.

Launch Michigan Steering Committee

Steering Committee Co-Chairs

Tanya Allen

Tonya Allen, Skillman Foundation

Jeff Donofrio

Jeff Donofrio, Business Leaders for Michigan

Rob Fowler

Rob Fowler, Small Business Association of Michigan

Paula Herbart

Paula Herbart, Michigan Education Association

Tina Kerr

Tina Kerr, Michigan Association of Superintendents and Administrators

Steering Committee Members

  • Amber Arellano, The Education Trust Midwest
  • Rick Baker, Grand Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Sandy Baruah, Detroit Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Darienne Driver-Hudson, United Way for Southeastern Michigan
  • Marcy Dwyer, MI Parent-Teacher Association
  • David Hecker, American Federation of Teachers—Michigan
  • Ron Koehler
  • Bill Miller, MI Association of Intermediate School Administrators
  • Dan Quisenberry, Michigan Association of Public School Academies
  • Michael Rice, Michigan Department of Education
  • Julie Ridenour, Council of Michigan Foundations
  • Joe Scantlebury, Council of Michigan Foundations
  • Kevin Stotts, Talent 2025
  • Ray Telman, Middle Cities Education Association
  • John Walsh, MI Manufacturers Association
  • Don Wotruba, Michigan Association of School Boards

Launch Michigan Champions

  • Business Leaders for Michigan
  • Career Technical Education (CTE) Committee—Marquette & Alger Counties
  • Center for Michigan
  • Commissioner, Governor’s 21st Century Education Commission
  • Council of Michigan Foundations
  • Creative Change Mission (CCM)
  • dailystem.com and the STEM Everyday Podcast
  • Dearborn Public Schools, Salina Elementary School
  • Detroit Economic Club Young Leaders Board
  • Detroit Hispanic Development Corporation
  • Detroit Regional Chamber
  • Grand Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Grand Valley State University Charter Schools Office
  • Grand Valley State University President and Chair of the Governor’s 21st Century
  • Education Commission
  • Hope Network’s Michigan Education Corps
  • Kent Intermediate School District
  • Kent School Services Network
  • Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Lapeer County CAN! (LCAN)
  • Macomb Intermediate School District
  • Metropolitan Affairs Coalition
  • MI NBCT Network
  • Michigan Association for the Education of Young Children
  • Michigan Association of Intermediate School Administrators
  • Michigan Association of Secondary School Principals
  • Michigan Association of United Ways
  • Michigan College Access Network
  • Michigan Department of Education, Office of Public and Governmental Affairs
  • Michigan Education Association
  • Michigan Food Bank Council
  • Michigan League for Public Policy
  • Michigan Nonprofit Association
  • Michigan PreK-12 Literacy Commission
  • Michigan School Business Officials
  • Michigan School Counselor Association
  • Michigan Virtual University
  • Michigan’s Children
  • Oakland Schools
  • Public Sector Consultants
  • Ricoh USA
  • School Finance Research Collaborative
  • Skillman Foundation
  • Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG)
  • Teach for America – Detroit
  • The Education Trust – Midwest
  • Traverse City Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Trusted Voices
  • United Way for Southeastern Michigan
  • Washtenaw Community College